Pennsylvania Lemon Law Explained

September 14, 2009
By: Robert Silverman

Happy third anniversary Lemon Law Blog buddies! We can’t believe it’s been three years since we started our online community, and we have appreciated the thousands of comments, blog topic ideas, suggestions, and well wishes. Here’s to the next year, where we will aim to provide even more comprehensive news and information on your Breach of Warranty and Lemon Law rights.

We decided that, in our next series of blog entries, we will take a look at the Lemon Laws in each of the states we work in. We start today with the Pennsylvania Lemon Law.

Pennsylvania is very near and dear to Kimmel & Silverman for two reasons. First, we started our practice in the State and have grown to become PA’s oldest and largest Lemon Law Firm, handling over 30,000 claims statewide since our inception. Second, Kimmel & Silverman worked with the Pennsylvania House of Representatives Consumer Affairs Committee in 2002 to actually add amendments to strengthen the PA Lemon Law, most notably to include leased vehicles. This was a tremendous success for our Firm and the amendment has single handedly aided thousands since its inclusion.

The Pennsylvania Lemon Law applies to new cars purchased or leased in Pennsylvania and registered in PA, OR purchased in another state but registered in PA by the first owner immediately after purchase.

In order to qualify for remedy under the Pennsylvania Lemon Law, your vehicle must be used for personal use and must suffer its first nonconformity (that’s a defect which affects the use, value or safety of the car) within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first. The problem must occur at least two more times under the manufacturer’s warranty period OR the vehicle must be in the shop 30 days in the 12/12 period. The 30 days do not have to be consecutive, nor do they have to be for the same problem.

Now, please note that although commercial vehicles, used cars, and motorcycles are NOT covered under the PA Lemon Law, there are other Laws we which may apply so call us at 1-800-LEMON-LAW (1-800-536-6652) to find out about your rights and whether we can offer assistance. Remember, you never know unless you ask.

Next time, we will take a look at the Great Garden State: The New Jersey Lemon Law!

Share this post:

Leave a Reply

*Indicates required field.