Understanding the NJ Lemon Law
Last updated: 01/23/2021 - The NJ Lemon Law provides cost-free legal help to distressed drivers whose cars, personal trucks, or motorcycles suffer a repetitive non-conformity or are in the shop for an extended time within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first.
Founding Partner Bob Silverman named Leader in Litigation by NJ Law Journal
Bob’s been repeatedly honored for his work handling New Jersey Lemon Law claims, including teaching arbitrators the fundamentals of the law, and working with the late Clarence Ditlow, Founder of the Center for Auto Safety, on expanding the New Jersey lemon law parameters. Most recently, he was named a Leader in Litigation at a gala hosted by the New Jersey Law Journal. Read about Bob by clicking here.
The vehicle must be purchased, leased, or registered in the state to file a claim. The state covers cars that do not meet the above criteria under the Federal Magnuson Moss Warranty Act or the New Jersey Used Car Lemon Law.
You may qualify for FREE legal help if:
- 🍋 Your vehicle is covered under an original, extended, or powertrain manufacturer's warranty.
- 🍋 Your car has been back to the shop three or more times for the same issue or 20+ calendar days for one or more issues.
- 🍋 Your vehicle was purchased, registered, or leased in New Jersey.
If you've answered yes to the above statements, you may qualify for FREE legal help under state lemon laws or Federal Warranty Law.
Call 1-800-LEMON-LAW or click below for help.Get FREE Help Now!
Does New Jersey's Lemon Law Apply to My Car, Truck, or Motorcycle?
- 🍋 The state law covers personal vehicles, such as cars, trucks, and motorcycles, that have manufacturer defects in the first two years or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first) and cannot be fixed after three or more repair attempts by an authorized dealer. "Non-conformity" is defined as a "defect or issue that impairs the use, safety, or value of the vehicle."
- 🍋 If your vehicle is in the shop for repair 20 days or more in the first two years or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first), the lemon law can also apply. These days do not have to be consecutive, nor for the same problem.
- 🍋 Legal representation should always be 100% cost-free, regardless of whether you win or lose. The New Jersey Lemon Law states that the manufacturer is responsible for covering all attorney fees and any fair compensation you receive if you win your case. If you don't win, you still pay nothing.
- 🍋 Remedies under the NJ State Lemon Law include a complete repurchase, a brand-new car, or significant monetary compensation along with continued ownership of the vehicle.
Also, there are Federal Warranty Statutes for NJ drivers who fall outside the Lemon Law but still have consistent repair attempts within the warranty period.
Frequently Asked Questions
Check out our FAQ section to find the answers to common New Jersey Lemon Law questions.
You can also read more about the expansion of the NJ lemon law: This expansion also covers cars that are in for one failed repair attempt for an issue which could cause death or serious bodily harm.
The Magnuson Moss Warranty Act
If your vehicle does not meet the requirements for a lemon law claim, don't lose hope! You could still receive a monetary remedy under federal law via the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act. This act applies if your car has been in the shop three or more times for a single problem under an original or extended manufacturer's warranty.
Why Call 1-800-LEMON-LAW?
Since 1991, the law firm of Kimmel & Silverman has successfully resolved more than 100,000 Lemon Law and breach of warranty claims in the Northeast. We have recovered more new cars and buy-backs than any other Lemon Law firm. We have more experienced attorneys than any other firm in New Jersey, representing consumers from every county in the state.
Kimmel & Silverman is the only consumer law firm ever asked by the state of New Jersey to teach arbitrators and mediators the fundamentals of Lemon Law and how to hear Lemon Law cases. Founding partner Robert Silverman and NJ Managing Attorney Jacqueline Herritt have both been named New Jersey Super Lawyers, representing the top 5 percent of all attorneys in the state. Additionally, several of our associates have been honored as New Jersey Rising Stars and we are especially proud to be named 2017 Leaders in Litigation by the NJ Law Journal.
When you choose Kimmel & Silverman to represent your New Jersey Lemon Law claim, you're getting 100% cost-free representation, win or lose. You have nothing to lose but your lemon car.
~ Ryan S. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
What If You Have Problems Occur Outside of the 24 months or 24,000 miles prescribed by the law?
Even if your issues start occurring outside of the first 24 months or 24,000 miles, you ma still be able to qualify for compensation. Other laws can be used to assist you and like the New Jersey's Lemon Law, they provide cost-free legal representation. These laws include the Uniform Commercial Code and the Federal Warranty Act, also referred to as the Magnuson Moss Warranty Act. Suppose you are under an original, extended, or powertrain warranty. In that case, you need to seek assistance from qualified Lemon Law lawyers in New Jersey who understand your situation.
What Should You Do if You Have a Lemon Law Claim?
We have handled cases in every court throughout the state. We travel to our clients for inspections as well.
Recent Success Stories:
Since 1991, Kimmel & Silverman has resolved more than 30,000 cases throughout New Jersey, successfully helping more NJ drivers than any other Lemon Law firm in the country!
Here are some recent success stories:
- 🍋 2019 Subaru Ascent with engine noises. Client received replacement vehicle under NY Law. Settled in 2 weeks.
- 🍋 2020 KIA Soul with check engine light problems and no available fix. FULL REPURCHASE. Settled in 3 weeks.
- 🍋 2020 Volvo XC40 with dashboard warning lights issues. Client received $17,000 settlement and kept their vehicle. Settled in 1 month.
- 🍋 2019 Ford F150 has engine misfiring and burns oil. Client received $8,000 and kept their vehicle. Settled in 1 month.
- 🍋 2019 Mercedes GLC300 that turns on by itself and has a water leak. FULL NJ LEMON LAW REPURCHASE. Settled in 1 month.
- 🍋 2019 Volvo XC40 with check engine light issues, stalling, and a faulty trunk. Client received $9,000 and kept their vehicle. Settled in 1 week.
For more success stories click here.
Frequently Asked Questions
- 🍋 What is the New Jersey Lemon Law and how does it work?
- 🍋 Is legal representation free?
- 🍋 How is cost-free legal representation possible?
- 🍋 Does a problem always have to occur three times (or more) to be considered a lemon under the Lemon Law?
- 🍋 What if my first problem occurs after the 24-month/24,000 mile period? Do I still have a claim?
- 🍋 Does the lemon law cover leased vehicles?
- 🍋 Does the lemon law cover motorcycles?
- 🍋 My car is brand-new or only a few days old, and I'm already having problems with it. Should I just return it to the dealership?
- 🍋 What is the proper procedure for opening a Lemon Law claim in New Jersey?
- 🍋 Does the Lemon Law cover used vehicles (cars, personal trucks, motorcycles)?
We receive countless questions from consumers about consumer protection laws on our 1-800-LEMON-LAW Hotline. That's why we've put together this FAQ to answer the most common questions our clients ask us when filing their claim.
If you believe your vehicle is a lemon, you should know that legal representation is completely FREE under the Lemon Law in NJ. Win or lose, you won't pay a cent, with no risk involved whenever you contact our firm.
What is the New Jersey Lemon Law, and how does it work?
The New Jersey Lemon Law protects consumers who purchase vehicles with defects that impair the use, value, or safety and that a manufacturer-authorized dealership cannot repair within a reasonable number of attempts.
In New Jersey, your car must have been to the shop three or more times for the same issue or 20 or more calendar days for one or more problems. New Jersey consumers are protected if the problem occurs in the first two years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first.
Your case could result in a complete repurchase of the vehicle, a brand new vehicle, or significant monetary compensation. You may even get to keep your car.
Is legal representation free?
Absolutely! Legal representation under the Lemon Law in New Jersey is 100% cost-free with no risk involved whenever you work with us.
How is cost-free legal representation possible?
NJ lemon law lawyers can offer cost-free legal representation under the fee-shifting provisions of the Lemon Law in NJ. If you prevail in your case, the manufacturer is required to cover all attorney fees and legal costs, in addition to any remedy you are owed.
If you submit your Lemon Law claim and we accept your case, you won't pay anything out of pocket, win or lose. These fee-shifting provisions give you – the consumer – equal footing when pitted against a multi-billion dollar automobile manufacturer.
There is never a cost. The fee-shifting provision enables us to pass the fee to the defendant (the car company or automobile manufacturer) when we prevail. If we do not win, there still is no cost to the consumer. We are confident in our efforts to succeed and obtain the best possible result for every one of our clients.
Does a problem always have to occur three times (or more) to be considered a lemon under the Lemon Law?
Not always. If your vehicle is in the shop for 20 days or more within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles of owning the car, we can file a claim under the Lemon Law in the state of New Jersey. These 20 days do not need to be consecutive, nor for the same problem, so long as they fall within the timeframe above.
Also, suppose a dealer cannot fix your car after one repair attempt for a problem that could cause death or serious bodily injury. In that case, you may have a potential claim.
We handle each case on an individual basis and have made exceptions in the past.
What if my first problem occurs after the 24-month/24,000 mile period? Do I still have a claim?
You might. If you're having an ongoing problem with your vehicle, and your car is still under the manufacturer's warranty, we can still help you under the Federal Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act. Under this law, consumers can receive significant monetary compensation to reflect the diminished value of their vehicle as a result of the problem, plus they get to keep the vehicle.
Much like the Lemon Law, legal representation is 100% cost-free under the Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act.
Does this law cover leased vehicles?
Yes. One of the potential outcomes could be immediately released from your lease agreement while receiving all the monies previously spent, minus a small mileage offset based upon the mileage you first reported your non-conformity.
Does the Lemon Law cover motorcycles?
Yes, the Lemon Law in NJ covers motorcycles with the same degree of protection provided to cars and personal trucks. That includes newly purchased or leased motorcycles. The law could entitle you to a complete replacement of the or a refund of the purchase price.
Similar to the lemon law for cars and trucks, representation is completely free.
The New Jersey motorcycle lemon law calls for three unsuccessful repairs or 20 calendar days out of service within two years or 24,000 miles.
My car is brand-new or only a few days old, and I'm already having problems with it. Should I just return it to the dealership?
No. While problems can occur immediately, even in brand-new vehicles, you must follow proper procedures if you hope to open a claim under the Lemon Law. The most important thing to do initially is to take your vehicle to a manufacturer's authorized dealership for repairs. Once your car/truck/motorcycle is returned to you, make sure you get and keep a copy of any repair invoices.
What is the proper procedure for opening a Lemon Law claim in New Jersey?
The proper procedure for opening any Lemon Law claim includes:
- 🍋 Making an appointment with a manufacturer-authorized dealership to have your car examined and repaired.
- 🍋 Obtaining a repair invoice when you pick up your car, personal truck, or motorcycle.
- 🍋 Checking the invoice, making sure it properly outlines all problems disclosed to the service manager.
- 🍋 Maintaining a personal log of all repair visits.
- 🍋 Please keep a copy of all invoices – this is important and will help your case move along more smoothly.
While we understand that dealing with a defective vehicle can be incredibly frustrating, do not try and give it back to a dealer. Surrendering a car can be considered a "voluntary repossession," which could damage your credit score.
If you are having problems with any vehicle, consult a Lemon Law lawyer immediately.
Does the Lemon Law cover used vehicles (cars, personal trucks, motorcycles)?
While there is a New Jersey Used Car Lemon Law, it only applies to dealerships. The NJ Used Car Lemon Law does not apply to manufacturers or warrantors.
Typically, we prefer to represent consumers under the Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act. As mentioned earlier, this law provides the same cost-free representation as the New Jersey Lemon Law, protecting consumers with used cars who have repeated problems under an original or extended manufacturer's warranty.
It’s important to note that if a dealer does not disclose a salvage, flood or reconstructed title at the time of sale, the consumer may have rights to a dealer’s fraud claim under the NJ Unfair Trade Practices Act. We have handled many of these claims as well and we would be happy to review your situation to determine if we can help.
What is NOT covered by the New Jersey Lemon Law?
The Lemon Law in NJ does not cover commercial vehicles and the living facilities of motor homes.
Do I need representation from a Lemon Law attorney in NJ to file my claim?
While it's possible to file a claim through the Better Business Bureau (BBB), through the NJ Consumer Affairs office, or on your own, it is strongly recommended that you instead work with an experienced lemon law attorney.
In fact, many consumers prefer to pursue their claim with an experienced lawyer, as all fees and legal costs are completely covered under the Lemon Law in New Jersey. There's no risk involved when consulting an attorney regarding your claim, and in many instances, cases can be settled more quickly in pre-litigation, without the need to file a lawsuit.
Both the NJ Consumer Affairs office and the BBB are very selective in the cases they will accept, often turning away strong, legitimate claims. Likewise, the decisions made by the NJ Lemon Law Unit are legally binding – if you lose your case, there may be no way to appeal.