Massachusetts Lemon Law Explained
We continue with our “Get To Know Your Lemon Law” series, moving on to Massachusetts. The Massachusetts Lemon Law covers vehicles that are purchased or leased in the Commonwealth from any new car dealer. These include cars, trucks and motorcycles. In order to file a claim under the MA Lemon Law, you must have a defect that affects the use, value or safety which occurs in the first year or 15,000 miles, whichever comes first. This defect must occur two additional times under the original manufacturers warranty as well.
Massachusetts consumers are also protected if their car is in the shop for 15 business days within the first 1 year/15,000 miles period. These days do not have to be consecutive, nor all to address the same problem.
The only exceptions here are off-road vehicles, those used primarily for commercial or business purposes, and auto-homes (ie RVs).
Like always, even if you fall outside of the parameters of the Massachusetts Lemon Law, those with continued repairs under their original or extended manufacturers warranty would be entitled to monetary compensation, plus continued ownership of their vehicle, under Federal Warranty Laws. Also, for those with used cars, there is statute 93a–the Massachusetts Used Car Lemon Law, which could come into play.
If you feel you have a potential claim in Massachusetts under State or Federal Law, feel free to contact us and we will be glad to review your situation and determine if and how we can help. As always, the service is 100% cost-free.