Call Now! 1-800-LEMON-LAW

Our Services are FREE! (800) 536-6652

Automobile Lemon Law

State Lemon Law Summaries

Select your State:

Get Lemon Law Help Now!

Have More Information?

* Required

Lemon Law America American Bar Association

Find Lemon Law Information For Your State

Both State Lemon Laws and Federal Warranty Laws are designed to provide relief to consumers that purchased defective vehicles. Under these consumer protection laws, if your lemon car, truck or motorcycle has been in the shop repeatedly, or for an extended period of time under your motor vehicle warranty, you could receive a NEW VEHICLE, A COMPLETE REPURCHASE or SIGNIFICANT COMPENSATION.

Here are summaries of all automobile lemon law statutes across the nation. Lemon Laws can be confusing and are open to numerous interpretations. Consult with a consumer attorney for more information regarding these provisions.


State Summary Repair Attempts/Days Out of Service Coverage Period
Alabama Vehicles intended primarily for use and operation on public highways that are self-propelled. Excludes motor homes or vehicles having a GVW of more than 10,000 lbs. 3 repair attempts - 30 calendar days out of service 1 year - 12,000 miles
Alaska Four-wheel vehicles normally used for personal, family or household purposes, requiring registration. Excluding tractors, farm vehicles, motorcycles, or off-road vehicles. 3 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Arizona Vehicles under 10,000 lbs. GVW, used to transport persons or property over highways, also applies to the self propelled vehicle and chassis of a motor home. 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. Express warranty period or 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Arkansas Vehicle purchased or leased for transportation of persons or property, excluding living facilities of a mobile home or vehicles over 10,000 lbs.-but including motor homes. Excludes motorcycles and mopeds. 1 repair attempt for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts, 30 calendar days out of service, or 5 repair attempts on separate occasions to repair any non conformities that together impair the use and value of the vehicle. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs last.
California Vehicles used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes, excluding motorcycles, portions of motor homes used primarily for habitation, or off-road vehicles. Includes the chassis, chassis cab and that portion of a motor home devoted to its population, includes a dealer-owned vehicle and a "demonstrator." 2 repair attempts for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service 18 months - 18,000 miles which ever occurs first.
Colorado Private passenger motor vehicles, normally used for personal, family or household purposes, and used to carry not more than 10 persons, sold within the state, including pickups, vans; excluding motor homes and motorcycles. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Connecticut Passenger and commercial motor vehicles sold or leased within the state. Excludes agricultural tractors. 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 2 repair attempts if serious safety hazard. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever period occurs first.
Delaware Passenger motor vehicles, except motorcycles and living facilities of motor homes, bought, leased or registered in the state. 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service. Express warranty period of 1 year, whichever occurs first.
District of Columbia Vehicles sold or registered in D.C., and designed for transporting persons, except buses , motorcycles, motor homes and recreational vehicles. 4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Florida Vehicles sold, transferred or leased , in the state, and used primarily for personal, family or household purposes, excluding off-road vehicles, mopeds, trucks over 10,000 lbs., the living facilities of recreation vehicles, and motorcycles. 3 repair attempts - 30 calendar days out of service 18 months or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Georgia Any self-propelled vehicles, primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over the public highways, leased or purchased in this state, or registered by the original consumer to this state, and on which the original title was issued to the lessor or purchased without having been previously issued to any person other than the selling dealer. Exempts those portions of motor homes designated, used or maintained primarily as a mobile dwelling, office or commercial space, motorcycles or trucks with 10,000 lbs. or more GVWR. 1 repair attempt for a for a serious safety defect in the braking or steering system. 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs earlier.
Hawaii Self-propelled vehicles primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over streets & highway which are used or bought for use primarily for personal, family, or household purposes. Includes dealer-owned vehicles and "demonstrators" or other motor vehicles sold with a manufacturers new warranty. Also includes certain vehicles used for business purposes. Excludes vehicles over 10,000 lbs., mopeds, motorcycles, motor scooters, mobile dwelling of motor homes. 1 repair attempt for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 2 years or 24,000 miles.
Idaho New motor vehicles normally used for personal, family or household purposes, sold or licensed in this state, excluding motorcycles, farm tractors, house trailers or any motor vehicle with a GVWR over 12,000 lbs. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service 2 years or 24,000 miles.
Illinois Passenger cars, vehicles under 8,000 lbs. and recreational vehicles, used primarily for personal, household, or family purposes, excluding camping trailers or travel trailers or motorcycles. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Indiana Motor vehicles sold to a buyer in the state and registered in Indiana, vehicles purchased in the state by a nonresident, having a GVW of less than 10,000 lbs., intended primarily for use and operation on public highways, excluding conversion vans, motor homes, farm tractors, road building equipment, truck tractors, road tractors, motorcycles, mopeds, snowmobiles or vehicles designed primarily for off-road use. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service 18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Iowa Vehicle purchased or leased in the state and primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property, excluding mopeds, motorcycles, motor homes and vehicles over 10,000 lbs. GVW. 1 repair attempt for a defect that may cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts plus a final attempt or 30 calendar days out of service. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Kansas Vehicles sold in the state and registered for a gross weight of 12,000 lbs. or less. 4 repair attempts or 10 repair attempts for different defects - 30 calendar days out of service. Any warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Kentucky Vehicles, owned by a Kentucky resident and purchased or leased new in Kentucky, and required to be registered or licensed in the state, except conversion vans, motor homes, mopeds, motorcycles, farm equipment and vehicles with more than 2 axles. 4 repair attempts - 30 days out of service 1 year - 12,000 miles whichever occurs first
Louisiana Vehicles under 10,000 lbs., sold in this state and excluding motor homes, motorcycles, and vehicles used for commercial purposes only. 4 repair attempts - 30 calendar days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Maine Vehicles sold or leased new in Maine except commercial vehicles over 8,000 lbs. or business or commercial enterprise registering 3 or more motor vehicles. 3 repair attempts - 15 business days out of service 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Maryland Purchased or leased passenger vehicles, trucks with a ton or less rated capacity, and multi-purpose vehicles registered in the state, excluding fleets of 5 or more motor vehicles and excluding motor homes as defined under the Motor Vehicle Administration Regulations. 1 unsuccessful repair of braking or steering system failure, 4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 24 months or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Massachusetts Vehicles, except those used primarily for business purposes, off-road vehicles, auto homes and motorized bicycles. 3 repair attempts - 15 business days out of service 1 year or 15,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Michigan Four-wheel vehicles used for personal, family or household use, or fleets of less than 10, including pick-ups and vans, excluding buses, trucks and motor homes. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever is first.
Minnesota Passenger automobiles, pickup trucks, vans and recreational equipment, chassis, sold or leased to a consumer in this state, used at least 40% for personal, family or household purposes. 1 unsuccessful repair of a completely failed braking or steering system likely to cause death or substantial bodily injury, 4 attempts or 30 business days out of service for other defects. Express warranty period or 2 years, whichever occurs first.
MississippiVehicles sold in this state, used primarily for personal, family or household purposes excluding off-road vehicles, mopeds, motorcycles, and parts of a motor home added by the manufacturer of the motor home. 3 repair attempts - 15 working days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs earlier.
Missouri Vehicles used primarily for personal, family or household purposes, excluding commercial vehicles, mopeds, motorcycles, and RVs except for the chassis, engine, powertrain and component parts of RV's. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs earlier.
Montana Vehicles sold in this state, including the non-residential portion of a motor home and excluding trucks of 10,000 lbs. GVWR or more and motorcycles. 4 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Nebraska Vehicles sold in this state, normally used for personal, family, household or business purposes, except self-propelled mobile homes. 4 repair attempts or 40 days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Nevada Motor vehicles normally used for personal, family or household purposes, except motor homes or off-road vehicles. 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
New Hampshire Purchased or leased vehicles with a gross weight under 9,000 lbs except tractors, off highway recreational vehicles, and mopeds. 3 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service Within 1 year of expiration of express warranty period or final repair attempt.
New Jersey Passenger automobiles or motorcycles leased, purchased or registered in the state, except the living facilities of motor homes. 3 repair attempts, OR more than 20 calendar days out of service, OR one repair attempt for a serious defect which could cause death or bodily harm. 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
New Mexico Passenger motor vehicles, pickups, motorcycles, and vans, under 10,000 lbs. GVW, sold and registered in New Mexico, normally used for personal, family or household purposes. 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
New York Passenger vehicles purchased, leased, transferred or registered in New York, including motorcycles and excluding off-road vehicles. 4 repair attempts, 30 calendar days out of service, or for a substantial defect within 20 days of receipt of notice given by the consumer using certified mail. 2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
North Carolina Motor vehicles sold or leased in North Carolina, under 10,000 lbs. GVW, excluding house trailers. Includes motorcycles. 4 repair attempts or more than 20 days out of service during any 12 month period. 2 years or 24,000 miles or express warranty whichever is greater.
North Dakota Passenger motor vehicles and trucks 10,000 lbs. GVW or less, normally used for personal, family or household purposes and sold in North Dakota, excluding house cars and motorcycles. 3 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service during 1 year or express warranty term whichever is less. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
OhioPassenger vehicles and noncommercial motor vehicles, motor homes (except cooking and sleeping facilities), manufactured homes, and recreational vehicles, but excluding vehicles of government entities and vehicles of business or commercial enterprises registering 3 or more motor vehicles. 3 repair attempts for same defect. 8 total repair attempts, 1 attempt to repair condition likely to cause death or serious bodily injury, or out of service 30 or more calendar days1 year or 18,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Oklahoma Vehicles registered in the state and under 10,000 lbs. GVW, excluding the living facilities of motor homes. 4 repair attempts or 45 days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Oregon Passenger motor vehicles, normally used for personal, family or household purposes, sold in Oregon, including leased vehicles and motorcycles. 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service. 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Pennsylvania Vehicles purchased or leased in Pennsylvania, or registered for the first time in PA, used primarily for personal, family or household purposes. 3 repair attempts - 30 calendar days out of service 1 year, 12,000 miles, or duration of warranty, whichever occurs first.
Rhode Island Automobiles, trucks and vans under 10,000 lbs. GVW, sold, leased or replaced by a dealer or manufacturer, excluding motorized campers. 4 repair attempts - 30 calendar days out of service 1 year or 15,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
South Carolina Passenger motor vehicles, trailer, semitrailer, sold and registered in the state which are designed, used and maintained for the transportation of persons but not operated for the transportation of persons for compensation, except to schools, religion affiliated programs or other prearranged excursions. Excludes motorcycles, living portions of recreational vehicles, trucks with a GVW over 5,000 lbs. and off-road vehicles. 3 repair attempts - 30 calendar days out of service 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
South Dakota New car, light pickup or motorcycle excluding vehicles of 10,000 lb GVW. or more. 4 repair attempts plus a final repair attempt. 1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
Tennessee Class "C" vehicles sold and required to be registered in the state, used for personal, family or household purposes, including leased vehicles, excluding motor homes, motor and garden tractors, RVs, off-road vehicles, motorized bicycles, and vehicles over 10,000 lbs. 4 repair attempts - 30 calendar days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Texas Motor vehicles, two or more wheeled, used primarily for transporting persons or property and engine transmissions or rear axles used for the same, having a GVW of 18,000 lbs. or more, whether or not attached to vehicle chassis. 4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 2 repair attempts for a serious safety hazard. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Utah New vehicles sold, purchased, transferred, or leased in this state excluding motorcycles, truck tractors, farm tractors, road tractors, and those portions of a motor home designated, used or maintained primarily as a mobile dwelling, office or for commercial purposes, mobile homes or any motor vehicles with a GVWR of over 12,000 lbs. 4 repair attempts or 30 days or more business days out of service. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Vermont Passenger motor vehicles purchased or registered in Vermont, excluding tractors, motorized highway building equipment, road-making appliances, snowmobiles, motorcycles, mopeds, trucks over 10,000 lbs. or the living portion of RVs. 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. Express warranty period.
Virginia Passenger cars, pickups, panel trucks, motorcycles, self-propelled motorized chassis of motor homes, mopeds, demonstrators and lease-purchased vehicles used in substantial part for personal, family or household purposes. 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service, or 1 serious safety defect, one repair attempt. 18 months.
Washington Vehicles, including new motorcycles, leased or purchased new and registered in the state, excluding buses, vehicles in fleets of 10 or more, living portions of motor homes, or trucks with GVW of 19,000 lbs. or more. 2 attempts for same serious safety defect; or 4 attempts for same defect (at least 1 of which is during the period of the manufacturer's warranty); or 30 calendardays (at least 15 of which occur during the manufacturer's warranty). 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.
West Virginia Passenger motor vehicles, pickup trucks, vans and motor vehicle chassis of motor homes purchased in this state on or after 1/1/84 used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes. 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service or 1 unsuccessful repair of condition likely to cause death or serious bodily injury. Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Wisconsin Vehicles, registered (or transferred) in this state, including demonstrators, non-resident or foreign registered vehicles purchased, leased or transferred in this state, except mopeds, semi-trailers or trailers designed for use in combination with a truck or truck tractor. 4 repair attempts - 30 days out of service Express warranty period or 1 year, whichever occurs first.
Wyoming Vehicles under 10,000 lbs. GVW, sold or registered in the state. 3 repair attempts - 30 business days out of service 1 year

Top of the Page

Call 1-800-LEMON-LAW (1-800-536-6652) Today!