When it comes to the Pennsylvania Lemon Law, can you separate the fact from the fiction? Our Communications Director Michael Sacks recently visited ABC27’s “Good Day PA” and shared a true or false quiz that is sure to help many distressed drivers throughout the Keystone State.
The Pennsylvania Lemon Law covers new cars that have a defect which first occurs within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles (whichever comes first) and cannot be fixed despite repetitive repair attempts (normally three or more). The Law also covers cars that have been back in the shop thirty days or more within the first 12 months or 12,000 miles (whichever comes first) and these days do not have to be consecutive nor for the same problem.
The PA Lemon Law covers all new cars purchased or leased and registered in Pennsylvania OR cars that are purchased or leased or another state but registered for the first time in Pennsylvania.
Don’t have a PA Lemon Law claim? You still have rights. If you have been back to the shop repetitively for the same repair under an original, extended, or powertrain warranty, you could receive significant compensation under the Federal Magnuson Moss Warranty Act. And just like the Lemon Law, the Federal warranty statute provides completely free legal help, with the manufacturer paying all attorney fees and legal costs in addition to recovery.
Have questions on the PA Lemon Law? Think you may be driving a Lemon? Give us a call at 1 800 LEMON LAW (1 800 536 6652) or fill out our Get Rid of Your Lemon form by clicking here.
In the meantime, grab a #2 pencil and see if you can figure out what’s true and false when it comes to the PA Lemon Law.