NJ Lemon Law Special Airs On Comcast of Ocean County

May 03, 2012
By: Robert Silverman

Attention all distressed drivers throughout Ocean County, New Jersey:  If you are having continuous  problems with your car, don’t miss the Wednesday May 9th edition of “Eye On Ocean County.”  Host Christina Sacco is joined by NJ Lemon Law Attorney Amy Bennecoff and 1 800 LEMON LAW Communications Director Michael Sacks for 30 minutes of useful news and information regarding the New Jersey Lemon Law.

The special also includes a discussion on the 2012 Car Complaint Index, tips for purchasing a car without being taken for a ride and the importance of a manufacturers warranty.   Ocean County Comcast viewers can join us Wednesday evening,  May 9 at 8:30 on Comcast Channel 97 and 9:00 on Channel 19.

According to Clarence Ditlow of the Center for Auto Safety, The New Jersey Lemon Law is one of the strongest Lemon Laws in the Country  for several reasons.  First and foremost, the problem needs to occur three times but only the  first instance needs to be  in the first two years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first.  This period is much longer than other surrounding states, namely Pennsylvania (12 months/12,000 miles) or Delaware (12 months/no mileage limit). Secondly, if the car is out of service for 20 days or more in the 24 month/24,000 miles period, it qualifies as a lemon. And these days do not have to be consecutive or for the same problem. In addition, there is a provision in the Law that a manufacturer has only one chance to fix a problem which could cause death or bodily harm, such as stalling on the highway.  If the issue happens a second time, the driver has the right to file a claim under the Lemon Law. There are very few states that offer this special provision, including Ohio.

Lastly, the New Jersey Lemon Law provides completely free legal help to the consumer.  If you prevail, the manufacturer must pay all attorney fees and legal costs ON TOP OF what the consumer receives.  And if the consumer does not prevail, there is no cost.  Thus, there is no cost and no risk to filing a Lemon Law claim.  (Please be advised though this is NOT the case if you file through the State.  The NJ Lemon Law Unit  requires a $50 filing fee and all decisions are binding and final.  Be very weary about trying to fight your claim in that venue.) The New Jersey Lemon Law covers all new cars, non-commercial trucks and motorcycles that are  leased, purchased or registered in the Garden  State.  Remedies include a new vehicle, a full repurchase or a partial refund and continued ownership of the vehicle.

Of course, if you fall outside the NJ Lemon Law parameters, or if you purchased your vehicle used, you still have a rights under the Federal Magnuson Moss Warranty Act.  Under the Federal Warranty Law, if you have been back three or more times under the original or extended manufacturers warranty, you could be entitled to monetary compensation to reflect the diminished value of the vehicle as a result of the defect.  And just like the Lemon Law, representation is completely cost-free.

For more information on the New Jersey Lemon Law, visit www.lemonlaw.com or call 1 800 LEMON LAW. We will be glad to discuss your situation and how we can help.

Share this post:

Leave a Reply

*Indicates required field.