New Jersey Lemon Law Expands!
As we have previously discussed, the Garden State government has been working hard to expand upon the NJ Lemon Law, and yesterday Governor Corzine signed the Bill that made the expansion a reality.
Up until now, the New Jersey Lemon Law, named the second most effective lemon law in the Country by the Center for Auto Safety, covered consumers who suffered a repetitive defect that first occurred within the first 24 months or 18,000 miles, whichever came first. The Law also covered consumers whose cars were in the shop 20 days within the first 24 months or 18,000 miles.
The NJ Lemon Law has now expanded that parameter from 24 months/18,000 miles to 24 months/24,000 miles, thus taking into account the fact that most drivers are on the road approximately 12,000 miles annually.
In addition, our improved New Jersey Lemon Law states that manufacturers only have one repair attempt to fix a defect which could cause serious bodily harm or death.
This is a huge coup for those who purchase or lease or register their cars in New Jersey. And remember, under New Jersey Lemon Law consumers are entitled to completely cost-free legal representation.
If you have any questions pertaining to the New Jersey Lemon Law and the representation it provides, please feel free to e-mail us or call us at 1-800 LEMON LAW (1-800-536-6652).
UPDATE: Click here to read the press release on the NJ Lemon Law Expansion.
Share this post: