The New Jersey Lemon Law may be expanded to include additional protection for distressed drivers.
The NJ Lemon Law currently protects consumers who suffer a problem that occurs in the first 18,000 miles or 24 months, whichever comes first, and continues to occur three or more times despite repair attempts from an authorized manufacturers dealership.
Assembly Bill 1954, sponsored by Assemblywoman Mila M. Jasey, looks to expand the lemon law parameters to include problems that occur in the first 24,000 miles or 24 months. Furthermore, consumers who suffer a serious defect which is likely to cause death or serious bodily injury if the vehicle is driven would be able to file a lemon law claim if the problem cannot be fixed after one repair attempt. We have seen similar provisions in other State Lemon Laws, including Ohio.
1-800 LEMON LAW Communications Director Michael Sacks discusses this Bill and all of its benefits, plus provides an update on the Chrysler and GM restructuring, all this weekend on News 12 New Jersey’s “In Your Corner with Walt Kane.” If you live in Central or North Jersey, check your local listings for show dates and times.