The New Jersey Lemon Law is one of the most effective Lemon Laws in the nation, applying to new cars, personal trucks, and even motorcycles, purchased, leased, or registered in New Jersey. The law provides protection for consumers with vehicles suffering non-conformities (defects or issues that impair the use, safety, or value of the vehicle) that are unable to be fixed within a reasonable number of attempts.
In New Jersey, if a manufacturer-authorized dealer cannot repair a vehicle after three attempts, the consumer has a potential claim under Lemon Law. The New Jersey Lemon Law also applies to vehicles that are in the shop for repair twenty (20) or more calendar days during the first 24 months or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first), as well as vehicles with a serious defect that could cause bodily harm or death if not fixed after one repair attempt.
Under the New Jersey Lemon Law, legal help is always 100% cost-free.
If you prevail, the manufacturer must pay all attorney fees and legal costs on top of what you receive. If you lose, you pay nothing, meaning there is no cost and no risk to filing your Lemon Law claim.
Potential remedies under the NJ State Lemon Law include:
- A full repurchase of the original vehicle.
- A brand new vehicle to replace your lemon.
- Significant monetary compensation on top of continued ownership of the vehicle.
Federal Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act
Even if you don’t qualify under the NJ Lemon Law, you could still receive monetary remedy under the Federal Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act. If your car has been in the shop three or more times for a single problem under an original or extended manufacturer’s warranty, the Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act may apply, including the same cost-free legal representation provided under the New Jersey Lemon Law.
Be sure to read the New Jersey Lemon Law FAQ to find the answers to the most frequently asked NJ Lemon Law questions.
What to do if you have a Lemon Law Claim
If you’re driving a defective vehicle and want to determine whether you’re entitled to cost-free legal help from a New Jersey Lemon Law attorney, use the Lemon Checker or email us for a free Lemon Law case evaluation.
You can also reach us directly at 1-800-LEMON-LAW (1-800-536-6652).
New Jersey Lemon Law Fast Facts:
- The NJ Lemon Law covers cars, personal trucks, and motorcycles, purchased, leased or registered in the state of New Jersey.
- The New Jersey Lemon Law covers vehicles with problems that occur in the first 24 months (two years) or 24,000 miles – whichever comes first –that cannot be fixed after a reasonable number of repair attempts (normally three or more).
- If your vehicle is in the shop for repair 20 days or more in the first 24 months or 24,000 miles, the NJ Lemon Law can also apply. These days do not have to be consecutive, nor for the same problem.
Why Call 1-800-LEMON-LAW?
Since 1991, the Lemon Law firm of Kimmel & Silverman has successfully represented over 75,000 consumers, recovering more new cars and buy-backs than any other Lemon Law firm. We have more experienced Lemon Law attorneys than any other firm in New Jersey, having represented consumers from every county in the state.
Kimmel & Silverman is the only consumer law firm ever asked by the state of New Jersey to teach arbitrators and mediators the fundamentals of Lemon Law and how to hear Lemon Law cases. Founding partner Robert Silverman is the only NJ Lemon Law attorney in to be named a New Jersey Super Lawyer, representing the top 5% of all attorneys in the state. Additionally, several of our associates have been honored as New Jersey Rising Stars.
When you choose Kimmel & Silverman to represent your New Jersey Lemon Law claim, you’re getting 100% cost-free representation, win or lose.
New Jersey Lemon Law Statute
New Jersey Lemon Law Statutes Update
NEW JERSEY LEMON LAW BILL SIGNED
Coverage expands from 2 years or 18,000 miles to 2 years or 24,000 miles, with a provision for defects that could cause serious bodily injury or death.