CT Lemon Law FAQ
Answers to Frequently Asked Questions
Wanting to provide Connecticut drivers with the resources they need to completely understand the Connecticut Lemon Law, we've put together this FAQ, answering the most frequently asked questions we receive on our 1-800-LEMON-LAW Hotline.
- How does the CT Lemon Law work?
- Does a problem always need to occur three times to be considered a lemon?
- Does the problem have to repeat itself within the Lemon Law window?
- What happens if the problem occurs after the 24-month/24,000-mile window?
- How does the CT Lemon Law offer cost-free representation?
- Are leased cars covered under Connecticut's Lemon Law?
- Are motorcycles covered under Connecticut's Lemon Law?
- Are commercial trucks covered under Connecticut's Lemon Law?
- Can I just return my lemon to the dealership?
- Are used cars covered under the Connecticut Lemon Law?
- I have so many more questions. Who can I ask?
Rest assured that there is never any cost or risk to you when filing your claim under the Connecticut Lemon Law.
How does the CT Lemon Law work?
The Connecticut Lemon Law covers drivers whose vehicles who suffer the same nonconformity or defect four or more times within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first).
The CT Lemon Law also applies to vehicles that are in for service two times for a serious safety hazard, with the first repair occurring in first 24,000 miles or 24 months.
Does a problem always need to occur four times to be considered a lemon?
Not necessarily. If your car is in the shop for 30 or more calendar days for warrantied repairs within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first), consecutive or not, we may still be able to file a claim under the Lemon Law. And as mentioned prior, manufacturers only have two chances to repair severe safety defects within the CT lemon law parameters.
Does the problem have to repeat itself within the Lemon Law window?
Yes, unless the car is out of service 30 days or more, or in twice for a severe safety defect, the issue must occur four or more times in the Lemon Law window.
What happens if the problem occurs after the 24-month/24,000-mile window, does that mean I can't file a claim?
No. If you are having continuous problems and your car is under a manufacturer's warranty, we can still help under the Federal Magnuson–Moss Warranty Act. Please let us know about your repairs, and we will have someone from our firm contact you and explain your rights. This representation is still completely cost-free.
How does the CT Lemon Law offer cost-free representation?
Like Lemon Laws in other states, the Connecticut Lemon Law Statute contains a fee-shifting provision which means that, if the consumer prevails, the manufacturer must pay all attorney fees and legal costs on top of what you receive. The law provides for a successful consumer to seek attorney fees under Connecticut General Statute, Ch. 743b, sec 42-180, New Motor Vehicle Warranties. When representing clients, our firm references this statutory provision to recover attorney fees incurred.
If you submit a claim to Kimmel & Silverman, and we accept your case, you will not pay anything out of pocket, win or lose. The fee-shifting provision gives you equal footing when battling against a multi-billion dollar automobile manufacturer.
Are leased cars covered under Connecticut's Lemon Law?
Yes. Leased cars are covered under the Connecticut Lemon Law.
Are motorcycles covered under Connecticut's Lemon Law?
Yes. Motorcycles are covered under the Connecticut Lemon Law.
Are commercial trucks covered under Connecticut's Lemon Law?
Yes. Commercial trucks are covered under the Connecticut Lemon Law.
I have had my car for only a few days and already I am having problems with it. Can I just return it to the dealership?
No. Problems can occur immediately, but if you are interested in opening a Lemon Law claim, you must follow proper procedures. That means making an appointment to have your car examined and repaired, and securing a repair invoice when you pick up your car. Make sure the invoice properly outlines all of the problems you disclosed to the service manager.
We also suggest you keep a personal log of your repair visits. PLEASE HOLD ON TO THE INVOICES. This does not mean that we can't help you if you don't have the invoices (we can subpoena them if necessary), but it does make your case move along more smoothly.
Never drop your car and keys at the dealership, telling them you no longer want the car. This could be seen as a voluntary repossession, and it could negatively affect your credit. If you are having problems, always consult a consumer attorney, be it us or someone else.
Are used cars covered under the Connecticut Lemon Law?
This is the most common question we receive at Kimmel & Silverman. Unfortunately, used cars are not covered under the Lemon Law, but hold on, don't get discouraged yet!
If you have a manufacturer's warranty, original or extended, we may still help you under the aforementioned Magnuson-Moss Act.
I have so many more questions. Who can I ask?
Ask away. Give us a call at 1-800-LEMON-LAW (1-800-536-6652) 24 hours a day, or feel free to e-mail us, and we will be glad to get back to you as soon as possible.
Feel free to review the current Connecticut Lemon Law Statute.